Reflecting on My Content Journey

A Birthday Special Edition

This past week, I celebrated another birthday.

This means that I’ve been doing a bit of self-reflection again, and I’ve been thinking a lot about my personal content journey.

Talking to others in the industry this month, I keep coming back to the question, ‘What does it really take to last in this industry?’

If you’re in the digital content space, you need to play the long game.

This past month, we lived through yet another core Google update. I’ve lived through a few of these now, and even though there are always some shifts (good and bad), it just doesn’t phase me like it used to.

Because I’m in this for a while.

When I think about an improvement or update on our content sites, I don’t think about the next shortcut or tactic that could get us some bumps. For the most part, those SEO shortcuts don't work like they used to as well.

Instead, I make decisions based on what is going to make this publication better in the long run.

If I was starting over in the content space, this would be my #1 piece of advice for my younger self:

Play the long game. Enjoy the journey along the way, and try not to let the ups and downs shift your focus.

It’s true in SEO, content marketing, and life.

But I have more advice I would give my younger self, and I thought I’d share that with you here today:

While you are figuring something out, others are too.

I wish I realized this sooner. In my early days in content, I was so hesitant to ask questions for fear that I would look naive, or stupid. But, most of us, especially in digital business, are figuring things out as we go.

As we try to figure out AI technology, new Google updates, new platform algorithms, audience-building strategies… It’s new to all of us. If you can build your ‘figure it out’ skills, you are already ahead of others.

It always takes longer to see traction than you want.

I used to feel so much pressure to implement and see traction, in my life and in my work. I used to get super frustrated when I didn’t see results based on my super-aggressive timeline. All of my life, I was very goal-oriented (I even did a speech on goal setting in grade 8). This usually meant big expectations and deadlines for the milestones in my life. And big disappointments when I didn’t hit those made-up milestones!

Can you feel me on this one?

But, as I got older, I started to really appreciate that great things take time. That sustained, daily effort really does add up. It’s not exciting, but it’s true.

You never really get to see what it takes for others to be successful. A lot happens behind the scenes.

This is as true in business as it is in life, but I wish I really ‘got’ that when I was starting out. I would read all the books, listen to countless webinars, and think I was going to find the holy grail of truth and tactics that would lead to massive success.

But the real secrets of success are often hidden behind the scenes. We don’t get to see the countless hours someone spends on a project. I’ve been married for almost 23 years. By all accounts, it’s been a success, but I can tell you that behind the scenes doesn’t always feel that way. That’s true in life, business, and content creation!

If something is working, double down on that.

Ugh. I still need to remind myself of this. It’s so much fun chasing something new or taking on a fresh exciting side project. It takes a lot of discipline to keep doing what’s working. And then even more discipline to double down on that. But, this is where real results happen.

Nobody will help you if you don’t put your hand up and ask.

Sometimes, the next breakthrough is just one ask away. Reach out. Don’t be afraid of the no’s (you’ll get them). Be more afraid of the yes’s you didn’t get.

You don’t have to work with everyone that will hire you.

It took me quite a few times to learn this lesson. I have been yelled at by clients hovering over me. I have been asked to get revisions done on Christmas Eve. I have been strung along with promises of more work, and future payments. Each and every time I worked with these people, I was doing so out of desperation. Work with people who inspire you (and pay you) instead. They are out there!

It’s okay to say, I don’t know. Let me get back to you. Explain that to me like a newbie.

In my early days, I spent so much wasted time looking things up when I should have just asked. We cannot be an expert in everything. There is no shame in asking for clarification, even if it’s something you think you should know.

Don’t try to write the entire story of your life while you’re living it.

Ahh, this one cuts deep. I have romanticized so many things in my life, thinking this would be ‘my big break’ or ‘big opportunity,’ literally writing my life story as I was living it.

Looking back, I see now that those big moments were not as monumental as I wanted them to be. Life and business are full of little moments, and we’re still writing our stories. Enjoy all the little moments. We don’t have to have it all figured out to do that!

Your work is not your family.

No matter how much you love your work or find an amazing team, it’s not your family. This is a good thing. I won’t let anyone call our company a family, because it isn’t. I often see this being used in companies to get employees to do more than what should be required, to sacrifice, and to prioritize the company over their real family.

I say, no to all of that.

You can always get replaced in your company, but nobody can replace you in your family.

Wear that bathing suit in public and have a good time.

People are not paying as much attention to you as you think, so try to have a little fun along the way and do you. For me, this was never truer than when I was at a business conference last year in Vegas. I found myself at the cabana by the pool, surrounded by my colleagues and new business contacts. I could never imagine myself doing this, but here I was.

I could have slinked to my room and missed out on all the shop talk and fun, but I didn’t. I sat there, had a few drinks, in my bathing suit, and had a grand time! My younger self would have never!

This is just as true in life as it is in business. We can often judge ourselves as not being good enough, not looking the part, and then sit out and miss out on some great experiences! But I say, wear that bathing suit, sit by the pool and enjoy!

Things to Read, Watch, and Ponder

Okay. I am so down for some content cluster talk, and the very talented Chima Mmeje recently did a talk with Tyler from Optimist. It’s a deep dive, so buckle up, but I truly believe this is one of those foundational things in content marketing that we all need to embrace, so make sure you spend some time watching!

If you’ve been in content marketing for more than a minute, you’ve probably faced burnout. I know I have. There was even the time I took my laptop to my gallbladder surgery in case we needed some edits on an article I was writing. Ugh. I wish I could have read this article back then… like the article says, nobody can do great content marketing from the hospital bed.

Remote work is great for productivity, despite what others might be saying. Don’t believe me, read this…

Thanks again for your readership. This newsletter was a bit of a departure for me, but I hope it inspired you to do more in your life and in your content career!

Cheers! Amy

Some Bonus Newsletters You’ll Love

If you want to get into the weeds on these topics, here are a couple of newsletters to subscribe to.

Reply

or to participate.