Are you really an expert? A checklist!

Plus some more thoughts on Google's update to search (with real examples).

It seems that while most of the SEO world has access to GSE (Google’s latest AI search experiment), I do not.

So, I’ve spent some time on SEO Twitter this morning trying to get the gist of the experiments that are happening right now.

While we will not see the full impacts of this new search landscape right away, it is something that we, as content creators, need to pay attention to.

Last week, I mentioned that we need to be prepared for a drop in search traffic (which means we have to get scrappier), and I’m not the only one who feels this way.

Here are some interesting findings from my SEO friends so far:

  1. Google is doing a really, really bad job at attributing sources (ugh, media platforms are not going to be happy about this).

You can read this thread from Lily Ray to learn more and see how Google’s new GSE is actually lifting (word for word) a known expert, without clear attribution (it’s there, but confusing; will the average user even realize this???)

You can see the response from the Google team, which seems to be paying close attention to the SEOs that have their attention today:

  1. A lot of people seem to think it’s not inherently ‘better’ at searches than what we currently have (though opinions vary on this as well).

    A few early users have also commented about the time it takes to produce results. I mean, who wants to wait and wait for answers? If Google is going to implement this, they are going to have to provide instant answers, or users won’t use it.

3. Google does seem to be displaying some YMYL (Your Money Your Life) answers in GSE (they previously said they wouldn’t do this). This is a risky strategy for Google, which could quickly erode trust with users, even with the “disclaimer,” so we’ll have to see how this plays out.

  1. Featured images might be making a big comeback if we want users to link to our sites. I agree! We will probably need to test featured images to see what works best moving forward and keep these optimized!

  1. Being the top-ranking result might mean you don’t get clicks in the new Google updated search. We will soon be seeing a lot more zero-click searches, apparently.

  1. We are going to have to change the way we ‘SEO’ and optimize content. Instead of optimizing for keywords, we’ll need to optimize for ‘expertise’ — this is already happening. We’ll have to really focus on expertise and real-life experience to get eyeballs on our content.

  1. We can no longer afford to be anonymous content creators. Opinions and real-life expertise is going to have to be on full display for us to dominate this new search landscape. If you want to be an expert content creator, you are going to have to put yourself out there.

So, what’s a content creator to do?

First. If you haven’t paid attention to the E-E-A-T signals for content yet, now is the time. If you are a writer, a publisher, or a content creator of any kind and want eyeballs, you are going to have to do better than what AI can create (and it’s getting better).

While I do think that we’ll still see the mass creation of AI-generated content, this is not what is going to surface and do well.

Real people still want answers from real-life experts.

That is why we’ve made it our mission to ONLY hire niche subject matter expert writers and editors.

But how do you know if you are really an ‘expert’ and if you are really displaying that to build out your own digital authority?

Maybe I can help!

The “Am I an Expert?” Checklist

A few of you already reached out and want to be notified when I release the new Bootcamp training for SME Editors, which is great! I’ll keep you posted!

But, as I’m building out the outline for this Bootcamp, I thought about the signals and ways we evaluate expertise at Venture 4th Media.

How do you know you are really an expert?

More importantly, if you are an expert, how are you demonstrating this expertise in your content creation?

Here’s where we are going to start.

If you want to be known as an expert, in any field or any niche, you are going to have to ask yourself some tough questions. Good news — you can work on these things.

Use this expert checklist as a starting point to evaluate where you stand:

  1. Do I produce quality content in my niche?

    Have I produced comprehensive and high-quality content related to my niche that provides value and depth of understanding to the reader?
    Bonus: Do I have attributed, or published content in my niche?

  2. Do I have the ability to explain complex topics?

    Can I confidently explain complex or intricate topics in my niche to non-experts?

  3. Do I actively live in this niche world?

    Do I actively engage in discussions, forums, or professional communities related to my niche, where I contribute useful insights and knowledge?

    Do I use and know the terminology and lingo that’s important in my niche?

  4. Is my expertise acknowledged amongst my peers?

    Do others, both professionals and enthusiasts alike, recognize me as a knowledgeable individual or expert in my niche?

  5. Do I have enough real-life, practical experience?

    Have I acquired practical, real-world experience in this field, through activities like independent projects, self-study, or voluntary work, that demonstrate my expertise?

  6. Am I current with the latest developments?

    Am I staying current with the latest developments, trends, and research in my niche?

  7. Am I an influencer in my niche?

    Have I been able to influence others in my field with my work or opinions or content?

  8. Am I a trusted resource?

    Do I transparently share my sources, and conflicts of interest, and am fully transparent when I don’t know something when providing information or advice in my niche?

    or

    Do people I know ask me questions and want my opinion on my niche? Do they trust that I’m going to give them real-deal advice they can’t find somewhere else?

  9. Do I spend time learning and keeping up with trends?

    Do I make it a point to continuously learn and develop my skills and knowledge in my niche?

  10. Do I have a digital presence?

    Are my digital content pieces widely shared, commented on, or cited by others in my field, demonstrating their value and impact?

Use this ‘checklist’ to evaluate your own expertise. There are always things we, as experts, can work on, but when I’m hiring subject matter experts, these are the things I look for.

Some Things to Read and Ponder

Here are some dig-in resources that I hope you’ll love!

My Favorite Tweets of the Week

It’s been another exciting week in the world of content and SEO, and I absolutely LOVE hearing from you on these topics!

What do you think of the updates in Google? Would love your questions and thoughts!

Cheers! Amy

Some Bonus Newsletters You’ll Love

If you really want to get into the weeds on these topics, here are a couple of newsletters to subscribe to.

Reply

or to participate.