Content Forward: Helpful Content Myths

How are we all doing?

In partnership with

Hello, fellow content peeps!

I’m back for another week of SEO and content updates, and I’m doing a quick check-in here.

I’d love to help. Reach out! I would LOVE an email chat, a one-on-one meeting, or just send me a funny meme. I’m here for all of it.

But first, a word from our sponsor.

Most Lead Magnets Suck. This One Doesn't.

Lame PDFs gathering dust? Videos no one watches?

What if your lead magnet felt like a friendly chat delivering massive value? One that slots into their daily routine for ultra-high conversion?

That's the power of an email-based course. And Master the Email-Based Course gives you the full, proven blueprint top creators use for lead gen, revenue creation, and more.

Dickie Bush said it best: "Actionable takeaways within 5 minutes of digging in. Huge value."

Quick Check-In: How are We All Doing?

Okay. The March Google update is officially over.

Now, we’re left to evaluate the winners and losers amongst us.

It should come as no surprise that there was a ton of collateral damage in this update.

And, now, many of us in content and SEO are left picking up the pieces and asking ourselves, where do we go from here?

Even if you haven’t been affected by the latest updates, if you are working in SEO right now, there is probably someone in your orbit who is feeling the effects of what we’re dealing with.

Even Marie Haynes asked Google to do more to help website owners impacted by HCU and March Core updates.

So, I thought it might be a good time to ask — how are we all doing?

I know we’ve discussed these updates a lot in the past few months, but I think it’s a great time for a status update, don’t you?

I have been talking to a lot of content creators and SEO folk these past few months and I have to say, there is so much about our industry that I love.

I’ve seen so many fellow content creators connect and offer to share what’s working and what’s not and help each other find new traffic sources.

We’ve been there for each other.

So, now we dig deep together and help each other figure out a new path. Last night, I went to meet up on Flipboard, and there were almost 150 eager bloggers and content creators there — to talk about Flipboard!

And, the overall mood was one of optimism and help. We were all there to help each other out!

I know the past few months have been tough for many of us on this list, including writers, freelancers, content creators, and even SEO folks.

I keep thinking about when I first started my freelance journey. It seemed like a huge deal to get someone to pay me to do something.

I just wanted to get paid to write something!

I had so many days when I thought I was never going to succeed in this new career.

Then, little by little, I figured it out.

I built my digital portfolio. Got a few new clients. Got my first really big project (yay) and just kept going.

I feel like that a lot these days.

I don’t know where my next big career move or business breakthrough is right now. I’m just pushing forward, figuring things out, and taking it one next step at a time.

The only difference is that this time, I have a community.

So, if you are in the messiness of starting a bunch of new things, trying to plot your next move, know this: You don’t have to figure this out alone.

I’ve got you.

There are still plenty of opportunities out there. Yes, we are going to have to pivot, adapt, and maybe take on something completely new, but isn’t that the fun part?

Big Publishers Brace for Cinco de Mayo Google Deadline

We’re starting to see some big publishers removing content. Remember how Google gave them all a heads-up?

Well, the May 5th ‘deadline’ is fast approaching, and we’re starting to see the big publishers removing directories, but who knows what Google will actually do to these big publishers?

We will have to see how this plays out, but the overall sentiment I’m seeing is that Google’s bark may be worse than its bite in this case.

What do you think?

Helpful Content Myths and Truths

Okay. I’ve been thinking a lot about some of the tough truths I’ve learned about content quality over the years.

When the Google smackdown with HCU first happened, it was hard not to take Google's diss personally.

What do you mean our content isn’t helpful?

The issues we’ve seen in the search world are not purely based on content quality right now. One could argue (and some are) that the results in Google are worse than they’ve ever been.

But, I digress.

Yet, I still feel that there are lingering myths about what helpful, quality content really is and what it isn’t, so let’s discuss.

Myth: You lost rankings in Google because your content isn’t helpful enough.

Truth: Google may have told the entire world that it was cracking down on spam and unhelpful content, but the SERPs tell a different story.

In these past few months, a lot of helpful, amazing content has been relegated to the basement. In the past few years, we’ve made it our mission to improve content quality, and yet, we’ve seen big drops. I know our content is great. When we consult or work on other (noncontent site) projects, our content does quite well and is well received when we distribute it onto other platforms.

Myth: Helpful content must follow a formula.

Truth: I get it. Having a template, or writer brief process can help establish a baseline of quality and consistency of content quality, but with AI-generated crap coming into our view, I think we’re growing tired of the overly templatized, overly SEO-d content already. Aren’t we? I think we’ve suffered long enough. Be brave enough to color and create outside the lines as well.

Myth: Helpful content must be perfect.

Truth: Most of my favorite content creators these days are deeply human and imperfect. Authenticity is becoming a rarer quality in content as we continue to mass-produce it. Mistakes, errors, even all the video ‘ums — this human side in content can also be a thoughtful, natural ‘pattern interruption’ tactic. Try it!

Myth: More is more.

Truth: It can be tempting to fall into the trap that many content creators fall into. There is so much pressure these days to keep pumping out content, not just on our sites but on many other channels as well. Great content can take time and resources, and that may mean not publishing as much.

Sometimes, you have to know when to leave them wanting more, too… which is why I’m wrapping things up for this week.

Become A Prolific Writer In 7 Days

Digital Writers:

  • Tired of your writing getting zero attention online?

  • Looking to unlock new (& lucrative) opportunities?

  • Want to position yourself as a writer with authority (even if you’re a beginner)?

Then look no further! This FREE email course will help you:

  • Craft irresistible headlines to hook attention

  • Generate endless writing ideas in 30 minutes

  • Write in a niche you own (and differentiate yourself as a writer)

Things to Read, Watch, and Ponder

▶️ The Verge weighs in on how Google is getting worse for independent sites. Check that out here!

▶️ Speaking of the future of content creation, are we seeing some additional platform shifts? Um, of course, we are. It’s harder than ever to build real fans, Forbes investigates; read about it here!  

▶️ Want more SEO insights? Get the State of Technical SEO Report from Aira here.

▶️ Thinking of a career in SEO? There are tons of opportunities out there to use these skills, and Moz has created a rather helpful guide in Carving a Career in SEO, which you can read here!

Next week, I’m off to my old stomping grounds and spending some time in Toronto. I hope to be back next week, but we’ll see. If I miss a week, please take some time to read one of my newsletter recommendations.

Cheers! Amy

Some Bonus Newsletters You’ll Love

If you want to get into the weeds on these topics, here are some newsletters that I read regularly that I think you’ll enjoy:

Niche Media PublishingNews & Views On Online Media Publishing
MarTech ToolkitDiscover & Implement marketing tech in your business.
Content BitesFree, weekly content marketing strategies from top 1% content marketers. Tactics, templates, examples, & case studies you can steal & use immediately.
Freelance Opportunities!A new list of freelance opportunities delivered to your inbox every Friday

Reply

or to participate.